Review: Hollywood Homicide

32785013

I don’t read a ton of mystery novels, but sometimes it is fun to play connect-the-dots… can I put the clues together before the author reveals the killer/thief/bad guy?

I recently picked Hollywood Homicide by Kellye Garrett for a fun bit of escapism. I liked the main character, Dayna, pretty quickly. Her mix of sarcasm and nervousness spoke to me. I often cover my fear of inadequacy with jokes and smart remarks, so I felt a lot of empathy for her. I thought her past as a recognizable face but not a major celebrity (as in, movie star) was neat. It gave her some Hollywood currency but kept her from being unrelatable to those of us with no connection to the industry.

The mystery itself had plenty of twists and turns. Just as I would think I had it figured out, a new clue would fall into the story. The women in the book seemed to be in the same boat and I loved the mix of passion and ineptitude.

I don’t want to spoil anything about the story, so I am going to leave this short and sweet. If you are looking for a fun mystery, check out Hollywood Homicide by Kellye Garrett.

Leave a Reply

