And I Read: 2016 Edition

In January

I turned 34.
Worship began at The Well.
We bought a house.
I began work as a substitute teacher.
Jack Reed Sr. passed away on my birthday. 😦
I began revising a manuscript.
Alan Rickman died and I cried a lot.
Corey and I took the boys to meet Tim Hawkins.
Will and Mandy came to visit.

And I Read

Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan
*Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
The Sandman, Vol 1 by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman: The Dream Hunters by Neil Gaiman
*Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood
Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert
The Rogue Retrieval by Dan Koboldt
*All Unquiet Things by Anna Jarzab


In February

I had a poem published in the Tipton Poetry Journal.
I had strep throat.
We took the boys to the Compassion Experience in Collierville.
I went to a Senegence event with Renee.
I sent a revised manuscript off to my then-agent.
I doodled a lot in my journaling Bible.
My sis, Lynn, sent me a tiara and feathered slippers.
I binge-watched “Jane the Virgin.”

And I Read
We Were Here by Matt de la Peña
Thief of Lies by Brenda Drake
Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy
*A Slip of the Keyboard by Terry Pratchett
*Cinder by Marissa Meyer
*The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami
Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett
Breathing Underwater by Richard Rohr
Burn for Burn by Jenny Han
Fire with Fire by Jenny Han

 

In March

Byhalia UMC gave $1000 toward my Honduras trip.
The Doctor (my cat) disappeared and never returned. 😦
Pat Conroy died.
We visited the filming location for “The Walking Dead.”
Carrie (sis) and I took our kids (and husbands) to Riverbanks Zoo.
Mama gave me my new quilt she made. LOVE!
Geese started hanging out in my backyard.
Corey taught Haydn to tie a tie.
Haydn traveled for the TSA state competition.
I had a story published HERE.
We celebrated Easter at The Well.

And I Read

Ashes to Ashes by Jenny Han
Childhood’s End by Arthur C. Clarke
I Still Dream About You by Fannie Flagg
This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
Summer of the Mariposas by Guadalupe Garcia McCall
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Attachments by Rainbow Rowell


In April

The Well was in the paper.
Baby turtles kept showing up at our door.
I spotted a blue heron and a luna moth.
I took David to the regional science fair.
I met Matt de la Peña!!!
David broke his arm in two places.
My Honduras tees arrived.
I had an idea (in the shower) that has turned into my new writing project.
I created a Pinterest account for The Well.
David was confirmed in the United Methodist Church.
I finally finished Disney pages in my PL album.
Our geese had goslings and I named them all Ryan.

And I Read
*Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein
Everything That Makes You by Moriah McStay
Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn
^Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña
Jesus Feminist by Sarah Bessey
Chasing Utopia by Nikki Giovanni
*Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares
The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez
I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
The Furious Longing of God by Brennan Manning
The Queen of Kentucky by Alecia Whitaker
Counting Thyme by Melanie Conklin
*Because I Said So by Ken Jennings

 

In May

I wrote seven devotions for the district.
I had a poem published at Mothers Always Right.
My niece had heart surgery.
Friends and I enjoyed a girls’ night at Pinks.
I started revising another manuscript.
David made Principal’s List for 6th grade.
My friend Ginger brought me cupcakes, just because.
I discovered and remedied an electrical issue while Corey was out of town.
I chaperoned a bowling night for the youth.
Corey caught a snake in our driveway.

And I Read

The Walking Dead, Vol 25 by Robert Kirkman
Falling into Place by Amy Zhang
A Blueprint for Discipleship by Kevin Watson
*A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin
The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin
Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
* and **Olive’s Ocean by Kevin Henkes
You Can’t See the Elephants by Susan Kreller
The Antelope in my Living Room by Melanie Shankle
*The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
Machinations by Hayley Stone


In June

I had 3 poems published at YARN.
Haydn and David went to Universal on a choir trip.
I finally got to hold baby Amelia.
Leila convinced me to try kombucha.
Lynn drove up from Tallahassee and met us for dinner at Keifer’s.
I got to spend some time with Izzie.
We attended the final worship service at Lewisburg UMC.
Orlando happened. It still breaks me to think of it.
Corey was ordained as an elder in the UMC!
I met Ruth Wood, first woman ordained in MS (40 years ago).
We introduced the boys to Bob Ross via Netflix.
Sasha sent me a sealed note for Every Single Day of my Honduras trip.
Rhonda sent me a card with the coolest bookish stamps.
I performed a poem when my friend’s son was baptized.
Jen and Drew came over for dinner and the girls gave us a concert. 😉
The Well got a website!
We had a church cookout to honor the firefighters next door.
I got new glasses.
I spent a lot of time trying to pack under 50lbs.
I left to spend a month in Honduras.
Jamie and I met Rudy Cano on the plane.

And I Read
The Reader by Traci Chee
The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty
*Muchacho by LouAnne Johnson
*The Thing About Luck by Cynthia Kadohata
*Where There’s Smoke by Jodi Picoult
Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
Life in a Jar by Jack Mayer

 

In July

((There is no way I can summarize this month well, but here are a few tidbits.))
Jamie and I lived in a hotel, a house, and a dorm.
We worshiped at the oldest still-standing church in the Western hemisphere.
We visited the Jesus statue at least 3 times.
There was a glorious weekend in Roatán.
I ziplined upside down and played with monkeys.
I had the best smoothie ever… guanábana flavor.
I met a mermaid named Nathali in a KFC bathroom in Honduras.
I fell hard for pupusas.
We made cotton candy for kids who’d never had it before.
I found gelato in Honduras!
We met with government officials in Honduras.
Our group had dinner at La Cumbre.
I got a new tattoo.
I spent a lot of money at Mi Esperanza.
We made guacamole from scratch.
I drank a lot of lachino de fresa at Espresso Americano.
I returned home after a month in Honduras.
I picked up school schedules and supplies por mi hijos.
I took a car full of tween boys to the HP midnight release party.
I won the costume contest at said party.

And I Read

The Same Sky by Amanda Eyre Ward


In August

I parted ways with my then-agent.
Haydn started high school and David started 7th grade.
I started teaching preschool.
I got sick and took a lot of vitamin C.
The well digger struck water in Tierra del Padre!!!!!
David got first chair in band.
I had three poems published at Scarlet Leaf Review.
I binged “Downton Abbey.”
Haydn joined the football team.
Our community well started meeting at our house.
Hubby took me outside to catch baby frogs.
I was disappointed to find American-bought starfruit is sweet.

And I Read
*The Nest by Kenneth Oppel
Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty
The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriarty
Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty
Three Simple Rules by Jon Rueben
Daring Greatly by Brené Brown

 


In September

I struggled to adjust to working mornings when I wanted to write.
CPR training was easier than expected.
My friend, Carrie, went with me to Book Fest in Memphis.
Carrie and I also had Korean food that was So Good!
I had two poems accepted for publication.
Another manuscript… another revision.
My daddy told me he is proud of me.
I binged “Call the Midwife.”
I got sick. Again.
We visited the Invitation in Tupelo and had lunch with friends.
I was a little obsessed with Snapchat filters.
I went to David’s first choir and band performances.
College transcripts were ordered and an application filled out.
I spoke on mission at The Well.

And I Read

The Trouble with Poetry and Other Poems by Billy Collins
*M is for Magic by Neil Gaiman
Root Beer Candy and Other Miracles by Shari Green
The Fireman by Joe Hill
Stitches: A Handbook on Meaning, Hope, and Repair by Anne Lamott
Foolsgold by Susan Wooldridge
The Living by Matt de la Peña


In October

The Well got a new logo.
Flannery O’Conner arrived in my mailbox.
David joined honor choir and performed.
I started ordering my groceries online and picking them up. Glory!
We went to Haydn’s last game of the season, and they won.
I signed with a new lit agent, Amy Tipton.
Same manuscript… more revision.
I had a sore throat that was not strep, thank goodness.
I finally participated in a #readathon.
The blue heron returned to my backyard.
I binged “Good Girls Revolt.”
My Aunt Carol left this world behind. 😦
I dressed as a princess and the TARDIS for fall fun days at work.
My boys were Rick and Negan for Halloween.

And I Read
*The Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes
The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
Life Sentences by Laura Lippman
*Rising Strong by Brené Brown
Becoming Naomi León by Pam Muñoz Ryan
The English Major by Jim Harrison
Mother Teresa: Come Be My Light by Brian Kolodiejchuk

In November

One of my preschoolers brought me blue Gatorade as a gift. 🙂
I restarted my study of Truby’s The Anatomy of Story.
We traveled to Tupelo for Khadence’s baptism.
I voted. Grr…
I got sick. Again.
I rewatched the 9th’s Doctor’s entire run.
Leila and I went to Atlanta for the Belong Tour.
I started watching Project MC2 with Livy (BFF’s first-grader).
We had Thanksgiving with the Bull family.
I finished Level 2 of Rosetta Stone.
Corey and I spent a week in Florida all by ourselves!

And I read
All the Rage by Courtney Summers
What Light by Jay Asher
Walking on Water by Madeleine L’Engle
The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson
Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley
*How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr
*Agnostic: A Spirited Manifesto by Lesley Hazelton
Freefall to Fly by Rebekah Lyons
*I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest
In December

Corey and I celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary.
I fell hard for The Liturgists Podcast.
I had to go to the men’s department to buy pants for my BABY.
Our preschoolers did a Christmas concert.
I researched Honduran poets.
David had a solo in his choir show.
I helped my preschoolers make reindeer handprint ornaments.
Jen made butterbeer fudge, and it was delicious.
There was a fun Christmas party for The Well leadership.
We had Christmas Eve worship in OUR BUILDING.
We enjoyed time with friends at the Hursts’ house.
David got a stomach bug.
We watched the Doctor Who Christmas Special.
Carrie Fisher AND Debbie Reynolds died.
I booked flights to Honduras.

And I read
The Most Dangerous Thing by Laura Lippman
What the Dead Know by Laura Lippman
Baltimore Blues by Laura Lippman
The Year of Pleasures by Elizabeth Berg
The Art of Mending by Elizabeth Berg
The Anatomy of Story by John Truby
Once Upon a Time, There Was You by Elizabeth Berg
TOTAL: 106

*Audio
**Reread
^This is the Newbery award winning picture book for the year, and it will be listed to cover all of the bazillion picture books I read this year as a preschool teacher.

Leave a Reply

