Currently: Going Forward

Current Books: I am a few chapters from finishing The Anatomy of Story. That book make my brain hurt but it is so helpful. I am reading The Souls of Black Folk as an early start on my peace/justice book list. It is crazy how little has changed in the handling of race relations. Technology has changed and the details of what a family’s home life might look like, their school, etc… But, over all, in one hundred years, we haven’t changed as much as we’d like to think. I just started The Year of Pleasures by Elizabeth Berg for my postal book club. So far, it is a quiet thoughtful kind of read. Last night, I began Return of the River, which is a collection of poems by Roberto Sosa. This book is doing double duty as part of my peace/justice book list but also research for my new manuscript.

Current Playlist: The Liturgists podcast. I get in my car and hit play and then I nod and say amen and say yes and also cry. I have been crying in my car for two weeks. Sometimes I pull over and sob. It’s the same kind of crying I did when I first read Searching for Sunday by Rachel Held Evans and throughout anything Nadia Bolz-Weber writes. My soul soars upward to meet the words and I find hope there, hope and peace and acceptance and challenge of the best kind. The challenge to be better, not a better Christian or even a better person but a better soul, a better me.

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure: Mello-Yello from the soda machine at work… I rarely drink soda, but lately I grab a can from that machine 2-3 times a week.

Current Colors: teals and creams… soft colors, but not pastels, per se. Peaceful homey colors.

Current Food: A lot of my preschool students brought me Christmas gifts, and one of those gifts included three kinds of cookies. So yummy.

Current Drink: This morning, it is coffee from a travel mug one of my students gave me for Christmas, but it will be Emergen-C apple cider in a bit. I am trying to shake a cold.

Current Favorite-Favorite: The Liturgists Podcast, hands down. I know I sound obsessive lately, but their conversations are feeding my spirit. I wonder if this is how the disciples felt when they first started walking behind Jesus, listening. Suddenly, things were making sense, and they didn’t feel quite so crazy.

Current Wishlist: Mostly books: Amazon Wishlist

Current Needs: Stamina… Back to work on January 3rd and then just one week before I am registering for classes and then a day or so later, it is back to college for me. There will be a trip to Honduras tucked in there as well, and I have a book to write.  So, you know, nothing really going on in 2017.

Current Triumph: I got all of my paperwork done and turned in and jumped through all of the hoops so I can go back to school. Also, I completed a full semester as a preschool teacher. There were some weeks I didn’t think I would make it. The kids are great, but my depression and anxiety issues can make things more difficult.

Current Bane-of-my-Existence: Naptime in my 3yo class… I am going to do some schedule rearranging in January to try to fix that. In a class of twelve, I have only two that always nap.

Current Indulgence: Blogging right now… I need to be putting together media for The Well tonight. And I will do that as soon as I finish this. I also indulged in a thrifting trip with my friend, Jeniffer, yesterday. I bought jeans and a blazer, and I haven’t bought myself clothes in a long time.

Current Mood: Not bad. I am coughing and feeling a bit sick, but I have chicken in the crockpot for our Community Well party and I swept the kitchen while my coffee brewed. I’m looking forward to two weeks off of work, and my new manuscript is promising.

Current Outfit: Grey sweats, Leila’s old Southern Miss soccer sweatshirt, thick slipper-socks one of my students gave me for Christmas

Current #1 Blessing: My husband, my family, my home… finding community here in Mississippi

Current Quote: “There I was, waiting, afraid I’d never experience the kind of joy yet to come, but hoping for it just the same.” -Elizabeth Berg, The Year of Pleasures

Current Photo:

David, after his choir concert

 

Title from:  “Dare to live the life you have dreamed for yourself. Go forward and make your dreams come true.” ― Ralph Waldo Emerson (((Because, 2015 was Dream and 2016 was Dare and now it is time to go forward with a dream in one hand and a dare in the other.))
Leave a Reply

