The Rainbow and Silvia

I don’t know how to blog about Honduras.

I didn’t journal as well as I’d planned. I didn’t open my laptop unless I had to. I did a lot of verbal processing, thanks to Jamie being with me and willing to listen.

So now, here I am, back in America. I want to share so much with all of you, but where to start?

People ask, “What was your favorite thing?” That is a hard question, but I am going to give you two brief answers. These are just snapshots of moments that rise to the surface when I pause for any length of time.
The Rainbow – Three of us drove to the scouted location for a well that will be dig at Tierras del Padre (home to a tribe of Lenca people). As we wound down a backroad, I spotted a rainbow. It was so beautiful I couldn’t take my eyes off of it. As the clouds moved, more of the rainbow showed through. It was a full arc of colors across the sky and even part of a second rainbow peeking out on the left side. Tim pulled over so I could climb a little mound of dirt and get a photo without power lines (we were just a few feet from where electricity ended). The best part? The end of the rainbow seemed to settle right on the location for the new well.

Silvia – Everything about Silvia made my trip better. Her smile, her shyness, her hugs, her quiet words… But the best was on the day I met her. Silvia brought me a book and asked me to read it to the group of kids that had just gotten out of school. They gathered around while I read in my halting Spanish. Silvia helped me with unfamiliar words. After, I asked the kids about my Spanish, “bueno o mal?” And they promised me, “bueno.” My heart was soaring when Silvia asked me to keep the book. She carefully penned her name in the front cover. It just so happened that a friend had left me with a children’s book written in Spanish. I pulled it from my bag, scribbled a note to Silvia, and gave it to her as a thank you.

There is so much more I could write about, and I probably will write about it. For now, I can only offer you snippets of days, flitters of thoughts, moments I hold in my hands like rubies in the sunlight. I keep finding new facets of their beauty.

Peace to you, friends.

Leave a Reply

