Currently: March Madness

Current Books: I’m about halfway through Jesus Feminist by Sarah Bessey and I just started Summer of the Mariposas by Guadalupe Garcia McCall. I’m listening to the audio of Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein at my father’s suggestion and started reading a Kindle book Daddy sent me, also, Dear and Glorious Physician by Taylor Caldwell.

Current Playlist: “Océanos (Donde Mis Pies Pueden Fallar)” by Hillsong United and “Por Siempre” by Generición 12

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure: I want to say not taking a sub job today and staying home to catch up on writing and blogging work, but I did TRY to take a sub job today.

Current Color: Our new house has grey walls. The bedrooms are a pale grey, almost white, and the rest of the house is darker grey. I adore grey and white for walls and trim, so this is perfect. I am now working on choosing a certain pop of color for each room. In my bathroom, I’ve chosen shades of teal and am collecting candle stands to go around the white marble tub. I will probably add teal bathmats and towels eventually.

Current Food: I spent spring break in South Carolina, and Mama made her meatloaf. It is one of my favorite meals ever. I may have to try my hand at it soon. I have made it before but it never turns out as good as hers.

Current Drink: I finally bought a cheap coffee grinder, so now I can enjoy my coffee from Honduras each morning.

Current Favorite Favorite: We took the boys to Senoia, Georgia on our way to South Carolina. It was about an hour out of the way, but worth it. They had so much fun (and so did we) snapping pics of Walking Dead sites. It took me years to give into the Walking Dead fandom and my sons are only just old enough that we let them start watching. I love sharing that with them. I bought a travel mug that says, “If Daryl Dies We Riot.”

Current Wishlist: Some routine. I thrive with a loose routine to guide my days and I haven’t had that in months. Substitute teaching does not lend itself to a routine schedule. Church planting is anything but routine. I haven’t been writing like I want to be, because I am out of the habit.

Current Needs: I need to make eye appointments for me and both kids. I’m nervous I need new glasses already and I don’t want to go to Honduras and start getting sick. When my vision changes, I deal with nausea and headaches like you would not believe.

Current Triumph: Last time I subbed for my favorite school, the teachers on the hall made me feel so appreciated. I wasn’t sure I could handle subbing for elementary school, so knowing I had done a good job was a big deal for me.

Current Bane-of-my-Existence: Finally getting a few minutes or hours that I could use to write or clean the house or do just about anything productive and being too exhausted to do any of it.

Current Indulgence: I’m going to Target in a little while. In theory, I am just going to pick up a gift card. Yeah… right.

Current Mood: I feel pretty good lately. Confident, even when I am tired.

Current Outfit: A new pair of jeans Mama gave me and my 1984 sweatshirt from Out Of Print, plus tennis shoes. It’s cold here again.

Current #1 Blessing: My husband. He drove us to SC for Spring Break and spent most of the time corralling our kids so I could enjoy time with my family. Plus, all of the people who have donated to my Honduras trip. I am almost to goal, and I will do a post about the trip soon.

Current Quote: “We do not grow absolutely, chronologically. We grow sometimes in one dimension, and not in another; unevenly. We grow partially. We are relative. We are mature in one realm, childish in another. The past, present, and future mingle and pull us backward, forward, or fix us in the present. We are made up of layers, cells, constellations.” ― Anaïs Nin

Current Photo:

Quarantine cell from the prison, on loan from AMC

Title: Because duh. My basketball bracket is broken. Of course. I always pick Kentucky. I can’t NOT pick Kentucky. But my book bracket… that still has a chance.

Leave a Reply

