Writing Words

I am struggling with a couple of writerly things in this rough draft. One of them involves major word-cuts. I went to church with my soul churning, not sure how I would decide what to cut and what to keep.

I sat down on a sofa and pulled out my kindle. I was reading Atchison Blue by Judith Valente and had come to a chapter where she visits the monastery’s small vineyard. One of the sisters is telling her about trimming the vines.

  • When cutting a branch, consider past, present, and future.
  • Understand something of your whole plan.
  • Keep the roots healthy.
  • Vines live a long time, but they only have energy enough to sustain, feed and nourish a few shoots well.
  • Be sure there is enough balance.

Well, hello best advice on revision I have ever¬†received. And the sister wasn’t even talking about writing. I’m sure these words also offer wisdom for life in general, but – for me – they were writing words. And I am so grateful God sent them.

Then, I came to this part. It’s going to be my motto while finishing this book:

When the student is ready, the teacher appears, right?
Leave a Reply

