And I Read (2013 Edition)

In January

I looked forward to my theme: “That’s What He Said.”
I started writing a “just for fun” kids’ novel.
Haydn’s retests showed him having made HUGE progress.
Incredible homesickness plagued me.
David came home to start his homeschool journey.
I started Project Life.
I turned 31.
A set of my photos was published in Lunch Ticket.

And I Read

1000 Gifts by Anne Voskamp^
Alabama Listening in the Cold War Era by Susan Shehane
True by Katherine Hannigan
There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom by Louis Sachar*
Crazy English by Richard Lederer*
Peeled by Joan Bauer
Sad Underwear and Other Complications by Judith Viorst*
Hero by Mike Lupica**
Sources of Light by Margaret McMullan

In February

I began moderating Thursdays on Middle Places’ Facebook community.
1-2 mile walks became a daily habit.
There was dental work.
I began daily turning my “writing career” over to Jesus.
We studied Henry VIII in our history book.

And I Read

Quit It by Marcia Byalick*
Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T.S. Eliot*
Incendiary by Chris Cleave
The Lost Art of Mixing by Erica Bauermeister
Dave Dravecky by Dave Dravecky*

In March
We had snow.
Tara Mock kept me sane via text.
We took a field trip to the Brooks Museum in Memphis.
I stretched my daily walk to three miles.
I was a guest blogger at Middle Places.
Haydn turned 11 and got his Hogwarts letter.
We started the PEERs program at the Autism Center.
We visited SC and had an awful family-wide stomach virus
And I Read
A Haydn biography*
Love Songs by Sara Teasdale
Griffin and Sabine by Nick Bantock
What Was She Thinking by Zoe Heller**
Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
Extra Credit by Andrew Clements**
The Midwife of Hope River by Patricia Harman

In April

Corey sent Rosie and I to see Chonda Pierce.
Dana mailed me books. Yay!
We began sponsoring Nathali through Compassion International.
I took a novel-writing class.
I fell in love with Scrivener.
Haydn started baseball practice for the season.
I went gluten free, temporarily.
David helped my friend, Desi, with graduate school work.

And I Read

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling**^
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
Room One by Andrew Clements**
William Shakespeare: Poetry for Young People*
Chomp by Carl Hiaasen*
The Beginning of After by Jennifer Castle
The Gone and the Going Away by Maurice Manning
The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg**
Story of the World: Volume II by Susan Wise Bauer*
Strip Tease by Carl Hiaasen
Help, Thanks, Wow by Anne Lamott
I Am Not Joey Pigza by Jack Gantos**

In May
David had a choir performance at church.
I lost 5 lbs.
There was a med switch.
I went shopping with my friend, Suzanna.
Haydn finished 5th grade.
David finished 3rd grade.
And I Read
Colin Fischer by Ashley Edward Miller*
Red Letter Revolution by Shane Claiborne and Tony Campolo
Who Was Leonardo Da Vinci by Roberta Edwards*
Absent a Miracle by Christine Lehner
No Talking by Andrew Clements**
Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech**
The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket**
East of Eden by John Steinbeck
The Reader by Bernhard Schlink

In June

We remembered Nattie on the 6-yr anniversary of her death.
Corey was commissioned as an elder in the United Methodist Church.
We were “flocked.”
I dealt with some unexplained extreme arm pain.
The boys went to VBS (Haydn’s last year).
I fell in love with “Firefly.”
I spent an entire week with Leila.
Haydn played in an All-Star baseball tournament.
I hit 16 lbs lost.
We did a nature walk on the Natchez Trace.
Mandy bought her wedding dress.

And I Read

The Glass Wives by Amy Sue Nathan
The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis**
Holy Ghost Girl by Donna Johnson
We End in Joy by Angela Fordice Jordan
The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor**
Hoot by Carl Hiaasen*
The Gunslinger by Stephen King
Poemcrazy by Susan G Wooldridge^
American Thighs by Jill Conner Browne**
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me by Mindy Kaling**
Nootka Rose by Sam Hamill
A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller

In July
Corey took the youth on a mission trip to Epworth Children’s Home.
The boys and I stayed with my parents in SC.
I ate the most delicious miniature wedding cake ever in the history of the world.
I went shopping with Kimmi, saw a movie with Ashley, and spent time with Rebecca.
There was a lot of rewriting.
I put new flowers on Lynn’s grave.
The boys and I were paused by a horse loose on the Interstate.
Rhonda took me to work for Take Your Poet to Work Day.
We introduced the youth to Mr. Bunky’s.
The boys went to Camp Lake Stephens.
And I Read
The Great Gilly Hopkins by Katherine Paterson**^
A Year of Biblical Womanhood by Rachel Held Evans
The Reading Promise by Alice Ozma**
Nation by Terry Pratchett**
Lost and Found by Andrew Clements**
Troublemaker by Andrew Clements**
First Light by Rebecca Stead**
Stones from the River by Ursula Hegi
Someone Else’s Love Story by Joshilyn Jackson

In August

I was still revising and rewriting Tornado.
We started back to homeschool.
I created a couple of handwritten poetry volumes.
Peyton completed sketches for Tornado.
There were Starbucks dates with Rachel.
A notebook was filled with a handwritten story.
I started teaching myself to speak Spanish.
I fit into a pair of size 6 jeans.

And I Read

Miss Anne in Harlem by Carla Kaplan
The Edible Woman by Margaret Atwood
I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley
100 Best Loved Poems by Philip Smith*^
The Pentrals by Crystal Mack
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams**^
Bitter Like Orange Peel by Jessica Bell
Jim Thorpe by Carrie Golus*
The Library Card by Jerry Spinelli*
Hero Tales by Dave Jackson*
Still Writing by Dani Shapiro
Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver

In September
I turned in my manuscript and FORGOT PAGE NUMBERS.
There was a massive need for cough medicine in my life.
I wrote an author bio I actually liked.
I returned to the labyrinth and fed my soul.
My mornings began with cuddling my neighbor’s baby girl.
And I Read
Highway Cats by Janet Taylor Lisle**
The Anatomy of Wings by Karen Foxlee
Ketchup is a Vegetable by Robin O’Bryant
In the Woods by Tana French
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Rules by Cynthia Lord**
The Likeness by Tana French
Coming Into Eighty by May Sarton
Faithful Place by Tana French
How Did You Get This Number by Sloan Crosley**

In October

Haydn spent a week with his grandparents in TN.
Our cat was diagnosed with cancer.
I spent a lot of time on Pinterest, pinning scenes from Israel.
Our government closed the Grand Canyon.
I got my first pair of prescription sunglasses.
The boys and I made butter beer.
Cymbalta withdrawal kicked my tail.
The boys and I chose Doctor Who themed Halloween costumes.

And I Read

Sappho’s Leap by Erica Jong
Broken Harbor by Tana French
Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume**^
The Bread of Angels by Stephanie Saldaña
Memories of my Melancholy Whores by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Perfect Game by Fred Bowen
The #1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith
Looking for Alaska by John Green
Feed by M.T. Anderson
My Own Miraculous by Joshilyn Jackson

In November
I got to pick some Christmas happies for a friend in Cambodia.
We visited schools and made a decision about Haydn’s 7th grade year.
Dad had a successful gallbladder surgery.
Corey bought me 1/2 lb Reese’s cups.
I taught youth Bible study.
We drove to Huntsville for a delightful Thanksgiving.
And I Read
The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness
One Breath Away by Heather Gudenkauf
No Easy Answers by Brooks Brown
Second April by Edna St. Vincent Millay
A Few Figs from Thistles by Edna St. Vincent Millay
Renascence and Other Poems by Edna St. Vincent Millay
Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli^
Tiger Eyes by Judy Blume**

In December

We painted a banner at Family Advent Night.
I got rid of almost half of my clothing.
Sapada invited me to Invitation planning meetings.
I watched all of Game of Thrones: Season 1.
There was a lot of praying over my kids.
Christmas wrapping galore was completed.
I fell down the stairs. Ouch.
I worked out a major plot issue.
My friend’s husband was shot and killed near my home.

And I Read

Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker
A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin

Total: 117
Kindle: 31
Audio: 27
Paper: 59
Rereads: 9

*Read-alouds with my boys
**Audio Books
^Reread

Leave a Reply

