Currently: Blackbirds and the Sun of October

Current Books: I just finished the most beautiful book ever, Bread of Angels by Stephanie Saldaña. I sobbed my way through it. Not because it is sad, but because so many of the stories spoke truth that broke through my armor and hit the soft places I’ve kept hidden for too long. I might have to devote a whole blog series to that book. Now, as a sorbet, I picked up the tiny little novel by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Memories of my Melancholy Whores. I know. The title. But he’s a classic Spanish author and I am on a Spanish kick. With the boys, I am reading The Book Thief and The Perfect Game. They are currently loving the Bone series of graphic novels.

Current Playlist: In the car, we’re listening to Hokey Pokey by Jerry Spinelli.

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure: Eating junk food, because this med change has left my taste buds and tummy out of whack.

Current Colors: I bought peacock blue for my hair.

Current Fetish: Doctor Who. We’re counting down to the 50th anniversary special.

Current Food: Totino’s pizza rolls. I haven’t eaten them in years, but I craved them this week. Crazy med change.

Current Drink: Coffee makes me nauseous (med change again) but I am adoring apple chai from Starbucks.

Current Favorite Favorite: Words in Arabic with all of their symbolism and nuance

Current Wishlist: A shopping spree to outfit myself for Israel, a retreat in a monastery…

Current Needs: More patience. Infinite patience.

Current Triumph: A couple of men stopped by the church, asking for help, and they barely spoke English. I got to use my tiny bit of Spanish and they understood me. It felt amazing. I want more of that feeling.

Current Bane-of-my-Existence: Cymbalta withdrawal. It’s a beast.

Current Indulgence: Since coffee makes me sick, I have been allowing myself apple chai and soda. I need a dose of caffeine each day, one way or another.

Current Mood: It’s almost 1PM and I haven’t felt sick today, so I am HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY!

Current #1 Blessing: My man, who handles my issues with such grace

Current Outfit: Jeans, striped sweater, painted TOMs

Current Link: I had a poem I’m fond of up at Middle Places this week.

Current Quote: The opening of the Quran parts the air as one would hear the first, faint notes from a violin in a symphony. -Stephanie Saldaña

Current Photo:  

Title taken from Poem in October by Dylan Thomas
Leave a Reply

