Currently: This Black August

Current Books: I am one essay from finishing I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley. It’s funny. Not laugh out loud funny, but amusing. I have a few books on hold. With the boys, I’m reading a biography of Jim Thorpe and The Library Card by Jerry Spinelli.

Current Playlist: If Haydn’s having a meltdown, I play praise music. That’s about it.

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure – Salted Caramel Gelato

Current Colors: Brights

Current Fetish: Pretty paper, postcards, paper tape

Current Food: chicken and veggies

Current Drink: coffee or water

Current Favorite Favorite: Peyton. He’s one of the college guys at church. He drew sketches for my manuscript. They are awesome. He is amazing.

Current Wishlist: a Mac for the boys to do school on, new tennis shoes, a pedicure

Current Needs: A couple of home repairs, answers

Current Triumph: The Tornado rewrite is complete. It took longer than expected, but it was worth every second. I am so excited about the changes and the finished product.

Current Indulgence: I bleached part of my hair and dyed it green.

Current Mood: Strangely detached

Current #1 Blessing: My husband and my friends

Current Outfit: My orange Hendrix t-shirt and jeans with flip-flops

Current Link: This website is amazing. I’m using it for Science and Health with Haydn and Art with David.

Current Quote: “Life starts out with everyone clapping when you take a poo and goes downhill from there. ”
― Sloane CrosleyI Was Told There’d Be Cake

Current Photo:

Title taken from a poem by Derek Walcott:
So much rain, so much life like the swollen sky

of this black August. My sister, the sun,
broods in her yellow room and won’t come out.

Leave a Reply

