The boss is not at all
sympathetic, and can
you blame him? Isn’t this
his choice to make and mine
to accept? Another month
of work, another minor
catastrophe, a setback
or four, falling unexpected
in our laps, but we are
breathing, and we are living
with a solid roof over
our heads, and a pillow on which
to lay those heads, which
is more than Jesus had
when he was on his mission.
I will pick up my pen again, I
will make all kinds of adjustments,
and I will not complain, because
this is my life. These obstacles
and the hurtling of them…
This is
my life,
my one
generously given
life, and today
I choose
to live it.

 

*originally published on Middle Places

Leave a Reply

