Currently: January Embers

Current Books: I’m about half through with a kids’ book called True (Sort of…). It’s really wonderful. Delaware was on my list of possible names for future characters. It made me smile to see someone else thought of it that way. David is reading to me, for a change, and we are about halfway through The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald. With the boys, I am reading Crazy English and There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom, also poems from various volumes. I am still in Psalms every morning. After my Psalm, I read from Red Letter Revolution by Tony Campolo and Shane Claiborne.

Current Playlist: I found the CD I have of Mom singing Loretta Lynn songs. I finally got it imported to iTunes. But it’s probably not helping my homesickness.

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure: Wearing sweatpants and my giant UK sweatshirt or some variation of that ensemble way too often around the house. I’m more productive if I put on real clothes, but I’m exhausted lately.

Current Colors: Kentucky blue. Can’t beat that.

Current Fetish: Project Life. I keep searching out idea pages and freebies to download. I need to replace my color ink cartridges.

Current Food: I just finished off a couple of blueberry cake donuts. Yummo!

Current Drink: Coffee from my Keurig. I use a re-usable k-cup, so I am not gunking up the environment with all those little plastic ones. I fell in love with a cheesecake creamer I found. *happy sigh*

Current Favorite Favorite: G2 pens. These pens allow me to write without my carpal tunnel acting up. At least, for a while – for longer than other pens allow.

Current Wishlist: Color ink cartridges, lots of good cardstock in size 8.5×11, more G2 pens, a handful of Kindle books, someone to clean my house every couple of weeks (I’m dreaming, I know), an extra few hours in the day now and again, a few cute aprons, a trip to London, magical inspiration for the Somewhere book, 3 new bathrooms in our house…

Current Needs: Well, the bathroom repairs are needed, along with roof repair. When it rains, it pours, right? But, truly, there is no life or death needs right now. We have more than we need, actually.

Current Triumph: Recapturing the fun of writing stories. Also, Haydn has been re-testing to check our progress. The kid’s a bloody genius. Two years ago, when I first pulled him from public school, he was behind his age in almost everything (except spatial memory) and now he’s surpassing superior on the same tests. His therapist and meds have helped tremendously, but I am allowing myself to feel some triumph over this.

Current Bane-of-my-Existence: Waiting. Waiting is just so hard.

Current Indulgence: coffee creamer

Current Mood: So homesick it hurts. It’s a heavy sick feeling in my gut.

Current #1 Blessing: My husband. He shoulders so very much, and he does it with grace. He supports my dream of publishing novels, even while it is paying nothing.

Current Outfit: Polo jeans from Goodwill in Columbia. I bought them shopping with my mom. Also, a Hendrix College shirt Abby bought for me and sparkly black TOMs. My Thespians hoodie from Brandon High School.

Current Link: Inspiration board for the current writing project

Current Quote: “There’s nothing worse than waiting and not knowing what’ll happen to you. Your own imagination can be crueler than any captor.” ― Richelle Mead

Current Photo: I am putting on make-up in the mornings lately. I’m making a concerted effort to feel prettier, because I feel happier when I feel pretty.

Title from this excerpt:

“Your hair is winter fire
January embers
My heart burns there, too.”
― Stephen KingIt

Leave a Reply

