Subject and Predicate

Oh, son, crying over sentences,
unable to put both
a subject and a predicate
to your thoughts,
unable to even come up with the thoughts
needed to make the words
on the page.
I know you are in there, somewhere,
the smart boy who can do so much
with his hands.
You are trying to hide from me
behind all of these tears
and screams
and the constant insistence
that you
Just. Can’t. Do. This.
But I know you can.
I know you can write down words on paper
to communicate
something, anything, that is inside you,
and I will not give up on you.
I love you,
and I will not ever
give up.
Leave a Reply

