Book Title Poems

This is a fun activity I like to do with kids.  Honestly, I enjoy doing it myself.  It gets my poetic-gears in motion and sometimes jump starts new writing. Both of the tweens in my Poetry Workshop for CoOp came up with some cute poems using this method.  Since, when teaching poetry, I do not give assignments without also completing them myself, I spent some time in Books-A-Million yesterday and wrote a few book title poems before CoOp.
There are two ways to do this.  You can gather book titles and rearrange them until you get a poem you like, or you can wander through shelves adding lines as you come across them. The only real rule is that you cannot add any words of your own.
***
***
Try it!
Leave a Reply

