Currently May 2009

Current Books: I have been on a Carol Shields kick and am reading the last novel she wrote before her death, Unless. I also read The Box Garden and Small Ceremonies (her first novels) recently. I am working through Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott. Oddly, this concept has been more helpful in my daily life than in my writing, thus far. Learning to take my days “bird by bird.” Gah, I love Anne Lamott. Am also loving the book of Isaiah for Bible study. The second half of Isaiah, more specifically. It is all about comfort, restoration, reconciliation, forgiveness and redemption. These are all themes that are so important to my life, right now.

Current Playlist: Audio books for now. Listened to Sula by Toni Morrison and am onto Love, also by Toni Morrison. She reads her own work, and she is amazing.

Current Shame Inducing Guilty Pleasure: Eating dessert first. Have done that two nights in a row.

Current Colors: Spring and summer colors. Bright! Bright! Bright!

Current Fetish: My ruby red toes. The color looks like the ruby slippers in Oz, complete with sparkles. Love it!

Current Drink: Hubby got me a Mt Dew Voltage. I don’t drink Mt Dew often. But, I am enjoying it today.

Current Food: eh. My meds suppress appetite. Ice Cream is what sounds good lately.

Current Favorite Favorite: My man. I actually love him even more than books. Amazing, isn’t it?

Current Wishlist: Summer always makes me want to go clothes shopping. This summer especially, b/c my summer wardrobe is severely lacking.

Current Needs: Dental work. Eye exam and new glasses.

Current Triumph(s): Making the trip to and from Natchez, by myself, without any serious hang ups.

Current Bane(s) of my existence: Money, Procrastination

Current Celebrity Crush: nada

Current Indulgence: Buying Diet Cokes from the gas station almost daily. Spending entire days reading at the church.

Current Mood: Mostly peaceful, with bouts of nervousness.

Current #1 Blessing: Corey and my friends (HAPPY BIRTHDAY LEILA).

Current Slang or Saying: “Almost There.” School is almost over. Vacation is almost here. Etc…

Current Outfit: My favorite jeans and an old t-shirt from a mechanic in Auburn. Flip-flops so my pretty toenails show.

Current Excitement: VACATION!

Current Links: Woman at the Well, A beautiful blog

Leave a Reply

